‘My Anambra Football’ Super 8 Tourney Draws held in Awka


The Anambra State Football Association (ANSFA) has held the draws for the zonal Playoffs for the maiden edition of ‘My Anambra Football’ Super 8 tournament.
The draws were held on Saturday at the State’s Football Association Secretariat in Awka.

A total of 27 teams took part in the draws to be part of the prestigious grassroots competition bankrolled by Aspire FC Adazi Ani.

The draws conducted by the Chairman of the organizing committee and a member of the ANSFA board, Oliver Ndigwe alongside ANSFA secretary, Chijioke Onyedika had teams drawn to playoffs in their zones, Anambra South, Anambra North and Anambra Central from where teams will emerge for the main Super 8 competition.

According to information made available to sports writers, participating clubs are expected to submit their players’ license on or before 4pm of Tuesday, 26th January 2021.

In order to be sure that all players go into the competition with clean bill of health, the sponsors have ensured free medical examination for players of the participating clubs.

Players of teams from from Anambra Central will be examined on Wednesday, 27th January at the Alex Ekwueme Square Awka, with that of Anambra North holding on Thursday, 28th January at Otuocha Stadium Otuocha while Anambra South teams will take their turn on Friday, 29th January at Ekwulobia Township Stadium Ekwulobia.
The zonal playoff will hold from 1st to 3rd February 2021 at designated centres in the three zones.
In the breakdown of the draws, 13 teams featured from Anambra Central Zone, 8 clubs registered for the tournament from Anambra North Zone while 6 Clubs made it for Anambra South Zone.

Here are fixtures for the Day 1 games in the playoffs.
Anambra Central Zone:
Global City FC Umunnachi vs Smith City FC Awka,
Young African FC Nawgu vs FC Harkdove Awka,
Uncle Ralph FC Mgbakwu vs Ogene FC Obeledu,
Solar Spider FC Nibo vs Peace FC Awka
United FA Amawbia vs DOSAD FA Enugwu-Ukwu.

Anambra North Zone:
Emmykings FC Nsugbe vs Golden Boys FC Onitsha,
Ozalla FC Onitsha vs Big-T Global FC Umunya,
Ifechikwulu FC Omor vs Nesaco Int’L FC Nkwelle Ezunaka
Macpee FC Omambela vs Ogbaru United FC Okpoko.

Anambra South Zone:
Mecon FC Umunze will tackle Ajalli United FC Ajalli,
Rangels FC Achina vs John Paul FC Ihembosi.

2 teams will qualify from each zone for the main competition and will be complemented by 2 best losing teams


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here