LMC notifies NPFL clubs of September 22nd league resumption date


The League Management Company has announced that the 2019-2020 Nigeria Professional Football League season will kick off on September 22, 2019, and conclude on May 17, 2020. The 2019 season ended in June and it saw the emergence of Enyimba as champions for a record eight times after they won the Championship Playoffs in Lagos.

Kano Pillars came second while Enugu Rangers finished third to take the final continental slot via the league. The league organizers have stated that there will be a midseason break from December 30, 2019, to January 10, 2020, while only four-midweek matches have been scheduled throughout the season.

The midweek matches will take place on Matchdays 4, 6, 12 and 17 probably for some of the other free mid-weeks to accommodate others likely outstanding fixtures due to Nigerian clubs participation in the CAF Inter-Club competitions. The LMC dispensed with the abridged league format used last season to ensure that the Nigerian league harmonise with other leagues in

These leagues have agreed with the CAF decision to ensure that league season runs from August through May of the following year. Already three of the four Nigerian clubs: Niger Tornadoes, Enyimba and Kano Pillars are involved in CAF Confederation Cup and the CAF Champions League this weekend.

The remaining club, Enugu Rangers are drawn bye to the next round by the virtue of their progression to the group stage of the CAF Confederation Cup campaign last season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here