2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup: Ogbaku held to a draw again by Orodo A; Akabo pip Amakohia


There is still all to play for in the quarter-final games of the 2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup at the Mbaitoli centre with all the three teams: Orodo B, Orodo A and Ogbaku still in the running for the two semi-final tickets.

Ogbaku presently topped the group with two points from two games having completed their two games after they picked a 1-1 draw against Orodo A on Monday, in a game the three points would have landed them one of the tickets irrespective of the result between Orodo A and Orodo B today at the Ifakala Community Secondary School playing turf, Ifakala, Mbaitoli LGA.

Ogbaku started brightly and were rewarded with the curtain-raiser in the 12th minute through Goodnews Egbushie after a mix-up from Orodo A defenders.

Ogbaku had chances to score at least two more goals in the first half but Orodo A Goalkeeper, Ajide Sikiru was alert to save his team.

Ogbaku continued from where they stopped in the first half and they poured forward in search of more goals. They got the chance in the 52nd minute when they were awarded a penalty kick after the referee spotted an infringement in Orodo A’s vital area. Osinachi Okoro stepped forward to take the spot-kick but Goalkeeper, Ajide Sikiru saved the penalty kick to keep his team in the tournament.

The penalty kick miss inspired Orodo A and they improved their game. They got the equaliser in the 66th minute through. Chibuike Obi.

Ogbaku desire to score a second goal wound up when Kelvin Chima was red carded in the 78th minute for dangerous play.

This afternoon, Orodo A will slug it out with Orodo B in a game Ogbaku will like to monitor with keen interest.

But Ikeduru centre situation has been resolved with Amaimo and Akabo already picking the two tickets at the expense of Amakohia.

Amakohia were beaten 1-0 by Akabo yesterday, Monday December 27th to record their second defeat after they were walked over by Amaimo on Sunday.

The final quarter-final clash between Amaimo and Akabo has thus become inconsequential with both having three points while Amakohia didn’t secure any point. With Akabo facing Amaimo again in the semi-final it was resolved that both teams should prepare for that instead.

The quarter-final games of the 2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup will end today, Tuesday, December 28th, 2021 Mbaitoli and Ikeduru Local Government Areas of Imo State with the final two round-robin games to be decided.

Unlike the conventional quarter-final games which are usually knockouts, the organizers adopted the round-robin with only six teams involved while the option of adding two lucky losers picked from the teams that were beaten in the second round, discarded.

The 2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup is bankrolled by Engineer Akarachi Amadi who is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of Akarachi Foundation and Integrity Group Initiative(IGI).

Results and Fixtures Of 2021/22 Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup:


Uzoagba 1-4 Iho
Amatta 0-4 Amaimo
Inyishi/Umudim 1-0 Atta 1
Amakohia 2-0 OUE
Ngugo Ikembara 1-2 Atta 2
Avuvu vs Akabo


Ogwa 1 0-0 Ezinihitte (Ogwa 1 advanced 4-2 on penalties)
Ifakala 3-0 Afara Eziama
Ubomiri 2-2 Orodo A. Orodo A through to the next round 3-2 on penalties
Amaike 1-0 Ogwa 2
Ogbaku vs Umunoha/Asano
Umuagwu Umuwhoha 0-1 Orodo B

Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup Second Round Results and Fixtures


Inyishi/Umudim 1-1 Amakohia (Amakohia qualified 4-3 on penalties.
Akabo 0-0 Iho. Akabo through to the last 8
Amaimo 0-0 Atta 2 (Amaimo qualified for the next round 6-5 on penalties)


Amaike 0-1 Orodo B
Ogwa 1 0-1 Ogbaku
Ifakala 0-1 Orodo A

2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup
Quarter Final results and fixtures

Ogbaku 0-0 Orodo B
Orodo A 1-1 Ogbaku
Orodo A vs Orodo B (28-12-21)

Amakohia 0-3 Amaimo
Akabo 1-0 Amakohia
Amaimo vs Akabo (28-12-21)

Net Shakers

3 goals

Akuonye Iwueze (Iho Dimeze)
Ekene Onu (Amaimo)
Chibueze Agha (Orodo A)

  1 goal

Mmegwa Bekee (Uzoagba)
Simon Udoka (Iho Dimeze)
Chigozie Ogu (Amaimo)
Chikwado Iheanacho (Ifakala)
Chisom Osuigwe (Ifakala)
Chidera Onu (Inyishi/Umudim)
Eke Arinze (Afara/Eziama) (own goal)
Ugonna Oparaku (Amaike)
Uzoamaka Chukwuemeka (Ubomiri)
Chinaza Ukawuike (Ubomiri)
Osita Benjamin (Ngugo Ikembara)
Nwanyanwu Ojo (Atta 2)
Destiny Chukwuemeka (Atta 2)
Collins Onuoha (Orodo B)
Osinachi Okoro (Ogbaku)
Tobechukwu Ibeh (Amakohia)
Martins Kampala (Inyishi/Umudim)
Goodnews Egbushie (Ogbaku)
Chibuike Obi (Orodo A)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here