2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup: Orodo A, Amaimo, two others qualify for semi-finals


Semi-finalists have emerged at the ongoing 2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup with the conclusion of Quarter-final matches on Tuesday.

At the Mbaitoli centre, Orodo A and Orodo B qualified after both teams settled for a 2-2 draw in the game played at Ifakala Community Secondary School playing pitch, Ifakala yesterday Tuesday December 28th, 2021.

Chibueze Agha put Orodo A in the driver’s seat in the eighth minute for his fourth goal of the tournament but Orodo B equalised five minutes later through Smart Linda.

It was Orodo A that went ahead again in the 15th minute through Agha who notched his fifth goal of the tournament from a well taking shot but Orodo B managed to draw level again in the 18th minute through Chibunna Opara.

It was how the game ended. The three teams: Orodo A, Orodo B and Ogbaku ended their two games with two points apiece having drawn the two games they played each but it was goals scored that separated the teams as Ogbaku were eliminated because they only scored a goal from the two games played.

Orodo A topped the group with two points and three goals scored while Orodo B are second because of the two goals they scored against Orodo A.

In the second centre at Ikeduru LGA, Amaimo and Akabo scaled through to the semi-final.

The semi-final games are scheduled for Thursday, December 30th, 2021 at Mbaitoli and Ikeduru LGAs respectively.

At the Ifakala Community Secondary School playing field, Ifakala, Mbaitoli, Orodo A will face neighbours, Orodo B in the semi-final on Thursday by 3.00pm with the winner qualifying for the grand finale slated for Sunday January 2nd, 2022.

In the other semi-final tie billed for the Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu Stadium, Iho, Ikeduru, reigning champions, Amaimo will trade tackles with Akabo also on Thursday with the victorious side earning a berth in the final.

The 2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup is bankrolled by Engineer Akarachi Amadi who is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of Akarachi Foundation and Integrity Group Initiative(IGI).

Results and Fixtures Of 2021/22 Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup:

First Round:


Uzoagba 1-4 Iho
Amatta 0-4 Amaimo
Inyishi/Umudim 1-0 Atta 1
Amakohia 2-0 OUE
Ngugo Ikembara 1-2 Atta 2
Avuvu vs Akabo


Ogwa 1 0-0 Ezinihitte (Ogwa 1 advanced 4-2 on penalties)
Ifakala 3-0 Afara Eziama
Ubomiri 2-2 Orodo A. Orodo A through to the next round 3-2 on penalties
Amaike 1-0 Ogwa 2
Ogbaku vs Umunoha/Asano
Umuagwu Umuwhoha 0-1 Orodo B

Second Round Results


Inyishi/Umudim 1-1 Amakohia (Amakohia qualified 4-3 on penalties.
Akabo 0-0 Iho. Akabo through to the last 8
Amaimo 0-0 Atta 2 (Amaimo qualified for the next round 6-5 on penalties)


Amaike 0-1 Orodo B
Ogwa 1 0-1 Ogbaku
Ifakala 0-1 Orodo A

Quarter Final results

Ogbaku 0-0 Orodo B
Orodo A 1-1 Ogbaku
Orodo A 2-2 Orodo B

Amakohia 0-3 Amaimo (Amaimo walked over Amakohia)
Akabo 1-0 Amakohia
Amaimo vs Akabo (Game cancelled)

Semi-final fixtures:

Mbaitoli: Orodo A vs Orodo B (30/12/21)
Ikeduru: Amaimo vs Akabo (30/12/21)

      Net Shakers

        5 goals 

Chibueze Agha (Orodo A)

        3 goals

Akuonye Iwueze (Iho Dimeze)
Ekene Onu (Amaimo)

          I goal 

Mmegwa Bekee (Uzoagba)
Simon Udoka (Iho Dimeze)
Chigozie Ogu (Amaimo)
Chikwado Iheanacho (Ifakala)
Chisom Osuigwe (Ifakala)
Chidera Onu (Inyishi/Umudim)
Eke Arinze (Afara/Eziama) (own goal)
Ugonna Oparaku (Amaike)
Uzoamaka Chukwuemeka (Ubomiri)
Chinaza Ukawuike (Ubomiri)
Osita Benjamin (Ngugo Ikembara)
Nwanyanwu Ojo (Atta 2)
Destiny Chukwuemeka (Atta 2)
Collins Onuoha (Orodo B)
Osinachi Okoro (Ogbaku)
Tobechukwu Ibeh (Amakohia)
Martins Kampala (Inyishi/Umudim)
Goodnews Egbushie (Ogbaku)
Chibuike Obi (Orodo A)
Chibunna Opara (Orodo B)
Smart Linda (Orodo B)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here