Enyeama the only Nigerian in IFFHS’ African XI of the decade


The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) has spelled out their African team of the decade with ex-Super Eagles goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama the only Nigerian deemed to have performed exceedingly in the last decade between 2011 and 2020.

The team is made up with one Nigerian, one Moroccan, one Ghanaian, one Algerian, one Gabonese, two Ivorians, two Egyptians and two Senegalese players.

IFFHS rated the performances and impact of the individual player on his club and national team. It also put into consideration statistics of their performance as yardstick to be selected.

It will be recalled that Vincent Enyeama inspired Nigeria to victory at the 2013 African Cup of Nations in South Africa and he was also crucial when the Super Eagles drew against Iran and beat Bosnia 1-0 before losing out to France 2-0 in the second round.

The Super Eagles legend featured for Enyimba, Heartland, Bnei Yehuda Tell Aviv, Hapoel Tel Aviv, Maccabi Tel Aviv and Lille of France.

The African decade XI

Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

Defenders: Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal), Medhi Benatia (Morocco), Ahmed Fathi (Egypt)

Midfielders: Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Andre Ayew (Ghana), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

Attackers: Sadio Mane (Senegal), Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Mohamed Salah (Egypt)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here