Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup Day 2 Wrap: Defending champions, Amaimo whitewash Amatta; Ogwa 1 stop Ezinihitte


Reigning champions, Team Amaimo showed magnificent power of intent to defend the Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup competition they won in the debut edition with a 4-0 demolition of hapless Team Amatta while Ogwa 1 also qualified for the next round after a 4-2 penalty shootout victory over Team Ezinihitte Mbieri as the competition entered day two on Tuesday at Ikeduru and Mbaitoli centres.

Team Amaimo swept aside Orodo B 3-0 to win the inaugural edition of the Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup for 2020-21 edition and they have begun their title defence impressively after they put Team Amatta to the swords in the first round game played at the Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu Stadium, Iho, Ikeduru.

Chigozie Ogu scored the fastest goal of the ongoing edition when he shot Team Amaimo ahead in the 1st minute before Ekene Onu added his own three goals in the 25th, 29th and 59th minutes to ensure two players have netted three goals each in two days after the three goals heroics of Akuonye Iwueze of Team Iho Dimeze in the opening game.

In the second game of day which started simultaneously with the one at Ikeduru, Ogwa 1 stopped Ezinihitte Mbieri 4-2 on penalties to advance to the next round of the competition at the Ohuba Community Primary School playing pitch, Ubomiri, Mbaitoli LGA.

There was no much to separate between both teams throughout the 90 minutes although Team Ogwa 1 dominated the game with Team Ezinihitte Mbieri’s Goalkeeper their saving grace on numerous occasions. Chuks Ibe who adorned jersey number 15 for Team Ogwa 1 also ensured their opponent does not have any sniff at their goal area with his commanding presence in the defence likened to that of Liverpool defender, Virgil van Dijk.

The game ended in a goalless draw and the tie became the first game to end without a goal at the end of the regulation time but Team Ogwa 1 converted four of their five penalties while Team Ezinihitte Mbieri got only two correctly to ensure the game ended 4-2 on penalties in favour of Team Ogwa 1.

Michael Ihuruka, Akachi Okoroafor, Chuks Ibe and Samuel Supremo all converted their spot kicks for Team Ogwa 1 while Chijioke Metu who played the second penalty kick for them missed his. Team Ezinihitte Mbieri only converted their opening two penalties but had the rest saved by impressive Team Ogwa 1 goalkeeper.

Three teams have now progressed to the next round of the tournament and they are Team Iho Dimeze, Team Amaimo and Team Ogwa 1.

In the Day 3 of the competition today December 15th, Inyohi/Umudim will slug it out with Atta 1 at Ikeduru centre while Ifakala and Afara Eziama will lock horns at the Mbaitoli centre.

The second edition of the Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup is powered by Akarachi Foundation and Integrity Group Initiative with the support from the Founder/CEO, Engineer Akarachi Amadi.

Results and Fixtures Of 2021/22 Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup:


Uzoagba 1-4 Iho (13/12/21)

Amatta 0-4 Amaimo (14/12/21)

Inyohi/Umudim vs Atta 1 (15/12/21)

Amakohia vs OUE (16/12/21)

Ngugo vs Atta 2 (17/12/21)

Avuvu vs Akabo (18/12/21)


Ogwa 1 0-0 Ezinihitte (Ogwa 1 advanced 4-2 on penalties)

Ifakala vs Afara Eziama (15/12/21)

Ubomiri vs Orodo A (16/12/21)

Amike vs Ogwa 11 (17/12/21)

Ogbaku vs Umunoha/Asano (18/12/21)

Umuagwu Umuwhoha vs Orodo B (19/12/21)

Net Shakers

3 goals

Akuonye Iwueze (Iho Dimeze)
Ekene Onu (Amaimo)

1 goal

Mmegwa Bekee (Uzoagba)
Simon Udoka (Iho Dimeze)
Chigozie Ogu (Amaimo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here