Unity Pre-season Tourney Day 5 Wrap: Nasarawa United, Plateau United through to semi-finals


.Wikki, Katsina United prime for last two tickets

Nasarawa United defeated FOSLA Academy 3-0 to qualify for the semi-final of the Abuja Unity Pre-season tournament.

The Solid Miners bagged their goals through Silas Nwankwo, Tolu Oluwole and Paul Odeh in the 2nd, 30th and 56th minutes and they finished the group stage with seven points from three games.

Cynosure thrashed Mavlon 5-1 in the other game in the group with Ibe Peters, Femi Famuyiwa, Christian Elemuo (2), and Ifeanyi Anyanwu on the score sheets for Cynosure while Saliu Lawal reduced the tally for Mavlon.

Cynosure ended the group games with five points and despite remaining unbeaten in the three games they played, they may still not make it to the last four.

Katsina United defeated Capital City 2-0 to record their second win with Mustapha Salisu among the goals. They are tied with six points along with Wikki Tourists whom they slug it out with tomorrow to determine who tops the group.

After a disappointing 2-1 loss to Sokoto United on Wednesday, Plateau United came gun-blazing on hitherto group leaders, SimoIben whom they whiplashed 6-0 in a rather one sided affair.

Victor Arikpo, Muhammed Zulkifilu and a brace each from Klinshak Longbap and returnee, Reuben Bala aided the emphatic win that was enough to take them to the semi-final.

The emphatic defeat suffered by the club supported by Nantes FC of France winger, Simon Moses, SimoIben could put paid to their chances of qualifying for the semi-final stage with Wikki Tourists and Katsina United now in pole position to pick the remaining two semi-final tickets.

Waco FC pipped Sokoto United 1-0 to end the tournament with three points from possible nine.

Tomorrow, all the group games will come to an end with Capital City and NYSC FC facing each other in an inconsequential tie while Katsina United and Wikki Tourists are also scheduled to meet tomorrow in another group tie. Both teams are as good as qualifying as group winner and best second-placed team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here