NWFL submits Rivers Angels to NFF as representative for WAFU Zonal qualifiers


The Secretariat of the Nigeria Women Football League has submitted to the Nigeria Football Federation, the name of Rivers Angels Football club of Port Harcourt, as the Champion of the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership season, after a successful outing at the much improved Super Six held at the Dipo Dina International Stadium, Ijebu Ode, Ogun state.

The letter according to the NWFL Chairperson, Aisha Falode, the NFF General Secretary will forward the letter to the Confederation of African Football WAFU Zone B, General Secretary, Mr. Balima, later today, thus meeting the deadline of April 26, 2021 set earlier by CAF.

The Chairperson of the NWFL, Aisha Falode, said Monday in Lagos, that Nigeria has to take part in the Zonal play-off. The winner of the NWFL Premiership 2020-2021 Season will represent Nigeria in the Zonal play off.

She noted: “The country that wins the Zonal play off represents the Zone at the final tournament later in the year. Our League Champions will play in the WAFU B play off.

Adding that: “Therefore, if Nigeria emerge as Zonal champions and are given the African Women Cup of Nations’ slot as champions, Nigeria may get two slots at the Final Tournament.

She stressed that: “This is possible because CAF has reserved one additional slot given to the Zone who produced the champion at the last edition of the AWCON for women.
The Super Falcons of Nigeria won it at Ghana 2018 and we are in WAFU ZONE B.

The modality for deciding who takes this slot is not known yet. Ordinarily, Nigeria who won it should be given the slot. This explained the second slot for Nigeria at the Women CAF Champions League.”

Falode, stated that, “The General Secretary of WAFU Zone B, Mr. Balima also disclosed in a correpondence that, the qualifiers will hold in Abidjan, Cote D’ Voire, from 15th July to 30th July, 2021 different from the May date that was earlier communicated.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here