NPFL/La Liga U-15 Youth League: Katsina United retain title; Warri Wolves, MFM finish second, third and individual awards


Katsina United have retained the NPFL/La Liga U-15 Youth League after they managed to exert revenge on Warri Wolves in the grand finale of the competition played at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu.

The Young Seasiders had beaten the defending champions 4-1 in the opening game of the second phase of the competition played on Monday but the Junior Changi Boys won in the final when it mattered most.

It was as if the script would be repeated when Kelly Asomusho blasted the curtain-raiser in the 12th minute for Warri Wolves but Katsina United managed to equalise in the 35th minute when the Seasiders failed to clear their line. Umar Abubakar scored the goal for the reigning champions.

There was no chance for further goals as the game spiraled into penalty shootouts. Yakubu Sadiq, Aminu Sani, Mohammed Sani, and Khalifa Aminu all were successful with their kicks for Katsina United but Umar Abubakar who bagged the equaliser during regulation time missed his spot-kick. Usen Emmanuel and Angayama Jeffery failed to convert from the 12 yards for Warri Wolves. Alatan Azuka and Believe Nse dispatched their spot-kicks with aplomb.

Meanwhile, MFM kept their nerves during the penalty shootout to place third at the end of the NPFL/La Liga U-15 Youth League which took place at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu yesterday.

The Junior Olukoya Boys defeated much-heralded Akwa United on penalties after the game ended goalless at the end of the regulation time. MFM had a golden chance to seal the win in the dying moments of the first half when Raphael Adepoju was upended in the Junior Promise Keepers’ vital area but their goalkeeper, Covenant Effiong came to his team’s rescue when he saved Adepoju’s spot-kick.

The game went into penalty shootout when there was nothing to separate both sides before MFM triumphed 4-3. The Olukoya Boys will have to thank their goalkeeper, Olafihan Kehinde who made two vital saves from the penalties of Emmanuel Emmanuel and Nsikak Umoh.

Katsina United who against all odds defeated Warri Wolves to defend the trophy they won in the last tournament swept the individual award presentation with Umar Abubakar ending the tourney as the highest scorer while Best Coach of the Tournament went to Tukur Hassan Adama of Katsina United.

Covenant Effiong’s inspiring performance between the sticks for Akwa United was rewarded with the Best Goalkeeper Award despite the Junior Promise Keepers finishing fourth at the end of the competition. Warri Wolves’ Samson Uwakwe was rewarded with the Best Player of the Tournament accolade after his impressive display for the Junior Wolves who narrowly lost to the reigning champions, Katsina United on penalties in the final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here