Flying Eagles 1-1 Nasarawa United: Olamilekan’s late goal saves Nigeria U-20 from first defeat


.Nigeria U-20 side to face Lobi Stars tomorrow morning

Nigeria Under 20 national team, the Flying Eagles were given reality check in one of their build up games for the Africa Under 20 Cup of Nations slated for Egypt next year after they were held to a 1-1 draw by 2016 Federation Cup finalists, Nasarawa United this evening.

The game played at the FIFA Goal Project, Abuja was the continuation of the series of friendly games organised for the Flying Eagles who will strive to lay claim to one of the four tickets to the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Egypt when they competition commences on February 19th through March 11th.

The Flying Eagles have been having a mincemeat of almost all the opponents they have faced including Wikki Tourists whom they beat 2-0 on Thursday through the goals of Adams Olamilekan and Segun Otusanya.

But it was not business as usual against Nasarawa United who held them to a goalless draw at the end of the first half. The Solid Miners stepped up their game in the second half and drew the first blood in the 69th minute after the referee spotted an infringement in the Flying Eagles vital area. Ikenna Offor coolly converted from 12 yards.

Nasarawa United continued to soak up the pressure after their goal but Flying Eagles handler, Ladan Bosso made some important changes to his team in the final 15 minutes and this yielded dividends with substitute, Olamilekan who scored the opener the previous day against Wikki Tourists, getting the equalizer in the 86th minute.

The game ended 1-1 apiece as the Flying Eagles kept their unbeaten record. They will face another top NPFL side, Lobi Stars Saturday morning in another friendly game at the FIFA Goal Project, Abuja.

Flying Eagles XI Vs Nasarawa United: Nathaniel Nwosu, Njoku Augustine, Agbalaka Solomon, Tambe Nathaniel, Benjamin Frederick, Daniel Daga, Yahaya Ibrahim, Abdulrahman Adam, Olusegun Otusanya, Onuche Ogbule, Jude Sunday

Subs: Saheed Jimoh, Dominion Ohaka, Daniel Bamaiyi, Adio Ojora Mustapha, Ayuba Francis, Umar Shettima, AbdulMajid Ibrahim, Obinna Agha, Israel Joseph, Wilfred George, Onyedikachi Ohanedu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here