Eguavoen names unchanged Eagles versus Sudan


Augustine Eguavoen has decided to stick with the Super Eagles team that defeated the Pharaohs of Egypt 1-0 in their opening game off the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations for the crucial clash against Sudan.

The former Enyimba boss has decided to go with Samuel Chukwueze, who was unimpressive on Tuesday against Egypt. understands Chukwueze has been impressive in training and Eguavoen trusts him to deliver in Saturday’s game.

The backline is also unchanged with goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, Ola Aina, William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo and Zaidu Sanusi all starting.

Joe Aribo and Wilfred Ndidi have been tasked to control things in the middle of the park.

Kelechi Iheanacho, Taiwo Awoniyi and Moses Simon complete the lineup.

Nigeria need a win to seal their place in second round of the competition.

Following their opening-day win over the Pharaohs, Nigeria currently sit at the summit of Group D and will look to keep the juggernaut rolling as they aim to surpass their third-placed finish in Egypt three years ago.

Nigeria take on Sudan at the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Group D of the Africa Cup of Nations on Saturday. Kick-off is 5pm.

The Eagles team list versus Sudan:

Maduka Okoye , Ola Aina , Zaidu Sanusi, Wilfred Ndidi, William Ekong , Kenneth Omeruo , Samuel Chukwueze, Kelechi Ihenacho, Taiwo Awoniyi, Joseph Aribo, Moses Simon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here