Dike Elected Imo FA Chairman, Uchegbulam Retires


Barrister Ifeanyi Dike has been elected as the ninth Chairman of the Imo Football Association alongside eight others.

This is even as Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam announced his retirement from football management. 

Others elected were Chief Sylvester Obasi as the vice chairman, Chief Charles Nnadi, Sir Kelechi Mejuobi, Casmir Mbachu, Jennifer Anusiem, Sunny Ndubuisi Ekeocha, Osita Nzenwa, and Angela Nkwo-Akpolu as members, while Godfrey Ndudi was returned as secretary.

The Imo Football Association elective congress held in Owerri, the capital on Saturday.

In his acceptance speech, Barrister Dike thanked the delegates for their support and pledged to reposition the leather game in the state.

Dike said he will consolidate on the track records of the immediate past chairman, Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam and ensure the FA is taken to enviable heights.

The election was supervised by the chairman of Abia State Football Association, Rev Obioma Onyeaghala who represented the First Vice President of the Nigerian Football Federation, Chief Felix Anyasi.

The electoral committee chairman, Prof Ken Anugweje represented by Lady Juliana Anyanwu, a retired Director at the Sports Council, and the other members had conducted the elections after which they counted the votes.

Dike succeeded Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam who served for 18 years and has since announced his retirement from football management.

Uchegbulam, a former first Vice President of the NFF thanked the delegates for their support even as they unanimously named him a honorary chairman to provide encouragement and counsel when needed. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here