2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup Day 5 Wrap: Orodo A, Amaike, Atta 2, Amakohia through to second round


Goalkeeper Ajike Sikiru heroics propelled Team Orodo A to the second round of the money spinning second edition of the Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup while Ugonna Oparaku stoppage time goal was the icing on the cake as Team Amaike eliminated Team Ogwa asTeam Atta 2 and Team Amakohia also advanced to the next stage of the tournament which entered Day 5 on Friday.

The star match of the day four games was the affair between Team Ubomiri and Team Orodo A which produced four goals at the end of the regulation time before Orodo A qualified for the second round 3-2 after penalty shootouts.

The game hitherto billed for Friday was played a day before because of the host team for the Mbaitoli centre, Ubomiri were to bury their king on Friday and so two games were played on Thursday with Friday observed as rest day to honour the late Eze.

It was Orodo A that began the game impressively but they were unable to convert the chances that came their way. They were made to pay for their missed chances when Uzoamaka Chukwuemeka put Ubomiri in the ascendancy in the 18th minute.

Ubomiri almost doubled the advantage two minutes later from a long range effort but the sharp reflexes of Orodo A Goalkeeper Ajide Sikiru produced a fingertip save to the admiration of the spectators who applauded the excellent save.

Orodo A got the equaliser in the 28th minute through Chibueze Agha who nodded in a technically played corner kick from six yards and they were ahead five minutes into the second half through the same player who adorned jersey number 8.

The ovation that greeted the goal had hardly died down when Ubomiri’s number 6 jersey Chinaza Ukawuike found space to level the scores in the 54th minute to the delight of his teammates and the spectators who came out in large numbers to support their team.

There were no further goals as the tie ended 2-2 at the end of the regulation time and both teams had to be separated by the penalty kicks.

It ended 3-2 on penalties in favour of Team Orodo A with Nnamdi Okoro, Chibuike Obi, and Emma Kelvin scoring their penalties for the winning side but Winner Henry and Junior Onyeze lost theirs for Team Orodo A.

Team Orodo A goalie, Sikiru Ajide was the hero of the game after he saved three spot kicks of Ubomiri struck by Uzochukwu Ihugba, Nzeribe Anyanwu, and Winner Chinagorom. Ebuka Ewa and Osita Opararex managed to convert theirs.

In the other game played, Team Amaike relied on the a late Ugonna Oparaku’s thunderous strike to send packing hard-fighting Team Ogwa 2 at the Ohuba Community Primary School playing field, Ubomiri, Mbaitoli LGA.

At the Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu Stadium, Iho, Ikeduru LGA, Atta 2 made amends for Atta 1 elimination by defeating Ngugo Ikembara 2-1 to move to the next round.

Nwanyanwu Ojo scored first for Atta 2 in the 12th minute but Ngugo Ikembara fought back gamely and found the equalizing goal through Osita Benjamin in the 36th minute. Destiny Chukwuemeka struck the winning goal in the 57th minute.

In the second game played a day earlier, Team Amakohia with a goal in each half outwitted OUE 2-0.

Today, Saturday December 18th the first round games will concluded at the Ikeduru centre with Team Avuvu facing Team Akabo while at Mbaitoli centre, it will be the penultimate game to the end of the first round games with Ogbaku slugging it out with Team Umunoha/Asano also today.

Results and Fixtures Of 2021/22 Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup:


Uzoagba 1-4 Iho

Amatta 0-4 Amaimo

Inyishi/Umudim 1-0 Atta 1

Amakohia 2-0 OUE

Ngugo Ikembara 1-2 Atta 2

Avuvu vs Akabo (18/12/21)


Ogwa 1 0-0 Ezinihitte (Ogwa 1 advanced 4-2 on penalties)

Ifakala 3-0 Afara Eziama

Ubomiri 2-2 Orodo A. Orodo A through to the next round 3-2 on penalties

Amaike 1-0 Ogwa 11

Ogbaku vs Umunoha/Asano (18/12/21)

Umuagwu Umuwhoha vs Orodo B (19/12/21)

Net Shakers

3 goals

Akuonye Iwueze (Iho Dimeze)
Ekene Onu (Amaimo)

2 goals

Chibueze Agha (Orodo A)

1 goal

Mmegwa Bekee (Uzoagba)
Simon Udoka (Iho Dimeze)
Chigozie Ogu (Amaimo)
Chikwado Iheanacho (Ifakala)
Chisom Osuigwe (Ifakala)
Chidera Onu (Inyishi/Umudim)
Eke Arinze (Afara/Eziama) (own goal)
Ugonna Oparaku (Amaike)
Uzoamaka Chukwuemeka (Ubomiri)
Chinaza Ukawuike (Ubomiri)
Osita Benjamin (Ngugo Ikembara)
Nwanyanwu Ojo (Atta 2)
Destiny Chukwuemeka (Atta 2)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here