2nd Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup: Amaimo, Orodo B set for another final; Akabo to battle Orodo A for third spot


Just like it was in the debut edition of the Akarachi Mbaike Unity Football Competition, Amaimo and Orodo B will face each other in the final of the tournament again on Sunday after they overcame their semi-final opponents on Thursday evening.

At the Ifakala Community Secondary School playing pitch, Ifakala, Mbaitoli, Orodo B pipped Orodo A 1-0 to cruise to the final of the tournament again just like they did in the last edition. It was an entertaining game among two teams who are neighbours.

It was Orodo B that came all out from the start of the game. They were very business-minded and also disciplined in defence but they have a goalkeeper, code-named Lampard who is very eccentric and erratic.

Due to a characteristics error from Orodo B goalkeeper who was dispossessed off the ball when he came out to clear, Orodo A almost opened the scores in the eighth minute. With only an empty net at his mercy, Sebastine Chukwuemeka’s lob ricocheted off the crossbar and returned to the field to the bewilderment of the spectators who were expecting the ball at the back of the net.

Meanwhile, Orodo B continued to pile up the pressure and they got the game’s curtain-raiser in the 27th minute. The initial close range effort from Collins Onuoha was saved by Orodo A goalkeeper, Sikiru Ajide before Ikenna Links scored from the rebound after Orodo A defenders were caught ball watching.

Orodo A improved the intensity of their game and 10 minutes after Orodo B scored, they bagged a penalty kick after one of their players was hacked down in Orodo B vital area.

Despite persistent call from his teammates, 16 shifted Darlington Gilbert elected to take the penalty kick. He deceived the Orodo B goalie but his spot kick hit the post and didn’t go in. Orodo A players were dejected as a result of the missed spot-kick and they didn’t recover from it.

In the second semi-final played at the Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu Stadium, Iho, Ikeduru also on Thursday, the defending champions, Amaimo are on course to defend the trophy they won last year after they defeated Akabo 1-0 to romp into the final.

The final comes up on Sunday January 2nd, 2022 at the Ifakala Community Secondary School, Ifakala, Mbaitoli with Amaimo (Ikeduru) slugging it out with Orodo B (Mbaitoli) who will out to seek their pound of flesh. Orodo B were thrashed 3-0 in the last edition’s finale.

The final game will be preceded by the third place game with Akabo facing Orodo A.

Results and Fixtures Of 2021/22 Akarachi Mbaike Unity Cup:

First Round:


Uzoagba 1-4 Iho
Amatta 0-4 Amaimo
Inyishi/Umudim 1-0 Atta 1
Amakohia 2-0 OUE
Ngugo Ikembara 1-2 Atta 2
Avuvu vs Akabo


Ogwa 1 0-0 Ezinihitte (Ogwa 1 advanced 4-2 on penalties)
Ifakala 3-0 Afara Eziama
Ubomiri 2-2 Orodo A. Orodo A through to the next round 3-2 on penalties
Amaike 1-0 Ogwa 2
Ogbaku vs Umunoha/Asano
Umuagwu Umuwhoha 0-1 Orodo B

Second Round Results


Inyishi/Umudim 1-1 Amakohia (Amakohia qualified 4-3 on penalties.
Akabo 0-0 Iho. Akabo through to the last 8
Amaimo 0-0 Atta 2 (Amaimo qualified for the next round 6-5 on penalties)


Amaike 0-1 Orodo B
Ogwa 1 0-1 Ogbaku
Ifakala 0-1 Orodo A

Quarter Final results

Ogbaku 0-0 Orodo B
Orodo A 1-1 Ogbaku
Orodo A 2-2 Orodo B

Amakohia 0-3 Amaimo (Amaimo walked over Amakohia)
Akabo 1-0 Amakohia
Amaimo vs Akabo (Game cancelled)

Semi-final fixtures:

Mbaitoli: Orodo A 0-1 Orodo B
Ikeduru: Amaimo 1-0 Akabo

  Net Shakers

    5 goals 

Chibueze Agha (Orodo A)

    3 goals

Akuonye Iwueze (Iho Dimeze)
Ekene Onu (Amaimo)

      I goal 

Mmegwa Bekee (Uzoagba)
Simon Udoka (Iho Dimeze)
Chigozie Ogu (Amaimo)
Chikwado Iheanacho (Ifakala)
Chisom Osuigwe (Ifakala)
Chidera Onu (Inyishi/Umudim)
Eke Arinze (Afara/Eziama) (own goal)
Ugonna Oparaku (Amaike)
Uzoamaka Chukwuemeka (Ubomiri)
Chinaza Ukawuike (Ubomiri)
Osita Benjamin (Ngugo Ikembara)
Nwanyanwu Ojo (Atta 2)
Destiny Chukwuemeka (Atta 2)
Collins Onuoha (Orodo B)
Osinachi Okoro (Ogbaku)
Tobechukwu Ibeh (Amakohia)
Martins Kampala (Inyishi/Umudim)
Goodnews Egbushie (Ogbaku)
Chibuike Obi (Orodo A)
Chibunna Opara (Orodo B)
Smart Linda (Orodo B) Izunna Ukemezie Jonathan (Orodo B) Ikenna Links (Orodo B)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here